Price gouging for a new 40th...

Mad_Otter

Registered
Anyone have any experience shipping a bike here (Germany)?

I'm working with a company that will charge me $11,500 for a new 40th. Looking online, it seems a little pricey considering I can find them for $9200, but I've no experience shipping anything that large overseas.

Anybody with experience doing this? Otherwise, $11,500 is cheaper than $14,000 for a German model... :sad:

MO

Prolly not to bad a price all things considered. $11500 here in the states off the showroom floor would be a little over the top, but shipping and insurance and all of the paperwork... doesn't sound like too bad a deal. Properly shipping something like this including all the port charges, insurance, and whatever fees for importing can run a couple of grand pretty easy.

I'd say don't focus wholly on the price, if you have a good feeling about the company, and it's going to make bringing it back to the states problem free? Go for it. There are folks here who have paid that amount picking it up locally.

I live right by a major shipping port - look up Port Canaveral Florida on internet find a shipper & get cost to ship motorcycle.  After you know how much that costs go to Suzuki web site and look up dealers within a hundred miles of there and try and cut a deal.  If you have any questions about the local companies - then I could help you out.  Good luck.

Also, you might consider some of the dealers in Canada - they seem to be selling them cheap too & the speedo would be in KH for you.

<!--EDIT|Let 'er eat!
Reason for Edit: None given...|1069714580 -->