Power Commander PCIIIr verses PCIII

TechMaster

Registered
Probably a stupid question...

Since the PCIIIr version interfaces with ingnition timing also, does that eliminate the need for a TRE to reach top speed potential? Just curious, as I have no experience with Power Commanders. Thanks...

I know with the PCII and PCIII you would still need the TRE, but since the PCIIIr version is made to adjust the timing, wouldnt that be doing the same thing as a TRE then? If not, what would a person gain by going with the PCIIIr version for almost $150.00 more than the PCIII?

the rpm limiter is in 6th gear the tre makes the bike think its in 5th gear where there is no rpm limiter, and also there is no retarded timing in 5th gear so thats why it smothes out the lower gears

Understood. I think you are missing my question... Since the PCIIIr allows you to adjust timing in all gears, wouldnt that do the same thing as a TRE? The PCII and PCIII only allow for Fuel adjustments, but the PCIIIr allows for Timing adjustments as well.

Understood.  I think you are missing my question...  Since the PCIIIr allows you to adjust timing in all gears, wouldnt that do the same thing as a TRE?  The PCII and PCIII only allow for Fuel adjustments, but the PCIIIr allows for Timing adjustments as well.
You're exactly right about the differences between the PC3 and PC3r. Your bike has a GPS (gear position sensor) the sensor does NOT allow the motor to rev past 9,200 rpm in 6th gear. The TRE tricks the ECU into thinking its in 5th at all times. It just so happens the ignition map in 5th gear allows for smoother accleration and less abrupt on/off throttle feel in the lower gears.

So to answer your question. Yes, both affect timing although, the Power Commander does not affect the GPS sensor on your bike.

also, there's really no need to install a TRE unless you have topped your Busa in 6th and want more. Just my .02.