Possible to bleed the clutch without removing the left fairing?

Rattlehead

Registered
So I got my new master cylinder installed yesterday and plan on bleeding it tomorrow. I hate fiddling with removing plastics if I can avoid it. It looks like reaching the nut is a tight squeeze but possible. Anyone else did this without removing the fairing? I'm thinking if I use a bleeder like the Mityvac, I can just reach in there and open it up, then let the bleeder do the rest. Basically, with the bleeder pump I'm thinking I won't have to keep opening and closing the valve. Just open in up one time, bleed it, then close it off again. Is that correct?

Also, I have no lever tension whatsoever. Probably because the new master cylinder was bone dry (no prime on the piston). Hopefully using a bleeder to vacuum it through will work better than the manual method.

@Rattlehead

two different situations (2 ways)

1st - 2-3 year intervall replacing the old fluid - yes this may work without removing left fairing - 4 that necessary 1 or 2 inch space you can bend the fairing outside (at summer temperatures)

2nd - refill after replacing the sleeve itself - this i guess is not usefull (up to impossible) caused by the lill bit weird form of the slave´s body
the best way to refill the empty system is the "buttom to top" - way like i described here at my page.
but thatfor the left side must get naked.

You will almost never get motorcycle brake or clutch pressure without a vacuum or a pump to push or pull fluid through the lines.
Those master cylinders do not have a bleeder, so often times you will have to loosen and tighten the line bolt at the MC and use it like a bleeder.
You also do not have to remove the fairing, just remove some fasteners on the left side and rear center, then you can pull the fairing back for more room to work.