Pirelli Angel Tires on trip

captain

Dis in my way!
Staff member
Administrator
I have never used a Pirelli tire on a bike before but after talking with Semi who runs the Strada I decided to give Pirelli a try. I read a review on the Angels in which they ran the tires on a busa on a track for 24 hours and put 3500 miles on the tire with the average speed of 132mph...

I mounted the tires and wheels on the busa and there wasn't a single mile on them when I left for the trip.... I scrubbed them in pretty quickly and they felt good. I was running 40lbs cold so when they heated up there was about 42 - 45 lbs depending on the altitude and outside temp...

We put in 6500 miles on this trip and so many curves that I think that we were leaned over most of the time... For the most part the tires were great, I noticed about 5000 miles that a flat spot on the middle of the tire started to show. When transitioning in a curve from a straight line to the edge of the tire it got a little squirrley but as long as you knew it was going to feel different it was easy to manage. The last 700 miles was pretty straight, New Mexico and Oklahoma in the heat and the flat spot in the middle of the tire really started to show and wear.... I made it home with tread still in the middle but this tire is all used up.

Would I buy a second set for the Busa? Absolutely, if you need some mileage out of a tire and still want to ride the curves without fear of the back end breaking loose this tire will work... I wouldn't take it to the track but to get the biggest bang for the buck the Angels did the trick.....

cap

i'm glad they worked out for you like they have been for me, you just need to get another set of rims and mount some Corsa III's for the track :beerchug:

Had the Angel on the busa earlier this year, I liked them , Good in the rain, Good in the twisties.Am running a Angel on my TLS now , same think , i like them.

So far this year ;