Out Growing My Busa?

fallenarch

THE SLOW RIDER
Registered
I noticed last year that I started taking longer to get geared up for a ride. Then once I got all geared up and 2 hours later I found myself in the garage watching endless reruns of Law & Order on TNT! Some things have happened to get in the way of riding. My riding buddy hung up his boots. He wanted to slow down and spends more time on his boat now. Then my parents are getting to that age where I spend a lot of my weekends helping them with this or that. I also have had to deal with the effects on the body from all those long rides - nerve damage in my feet, carple-tunnel in the throttle wrist, reduced hearing, and dry eye from wind in the face (even with a shield).

Last year I started track riding and that was awesome. But the roads I had been riding for nearly 12 years 2-3 times a week suddenly seemed narrow and full of danger. Right about when I was getting over this I had heart issues that have kept me off the bike almost all summer.

I still love the bike and once I'm on it I am 35 again and the pains seem to go away. But it gets harder and harder to force myself to get out on the bike. I also used to spend a lot of time in the garage working on the bike. Basically, I've gotten used to the bike being perfect - tires, all electronics working perfect, everything adjusted properly.....

I have come to the conclusion that either I'm in a phase or I am outgrowing my Busa. I considered another bike. I did the test rides. But I am realizing I love the Busa, much more so than motorcycles. I'm getting better from the heart issues and it looks like I'll make a pretty much 100% recovery with meds. I'm just hoping my relationship with the Busa will come back too.