Noise around 2500 rpm

qball

Registered
I'm hearing a noise around 2500-2000 RPM's when slowing while still in gear. It seem to happen it all gears. It sounds like a rachet or a tappets? Looking for help!

That's a very low rpm... almost idle. And most people here probably have never had their busa that low (while riding) in 2-6th gear. I don't mean to sound like a smarty pants, but is this while riding? With your helmet on? Just saying that 2500 is a pretty low rpm while riding and with a helmet on it's gotta be hard to hear.

So... can you "feel" anything? Or just hear something fishy?

I'm not an expert, though... others here are the pro's! But that just seems like a low rpm to worry about (could be wrong though). I'd be more concerned if I heard some wierd noise around 6k where it really matters.

I hope everything is ok with your bike! Also, stating the year/mileage would probably help guys here determine your issue.

I'm hearing a noise around 2500-2000 RPM's when slowing while still in gear.  It seem to happen it all gears.  It sounds like a rachet or a tappets?  Looking for help!
I'm downshifting well before 2-2.5k RPM or pulling the clutch prior when coming to a stop staying in 1st or 2nd while looking behind me for rearending cagers.

Only time I'm in that range is like Pandemic said, accelerating from a dead stop in 1st gear. What happens when you park the bike, put it in neutral then throttle it up to 2.5 RPM and hold it?

Try that and see if anything is still going on.

Exactly. While riding, you will hit 2k rpm right off the bat... it's like almost being idle.

Most of us here probably take off over 3k!

Please give more details so people here can help you out.

I don't think I've ever been at 2500rpm in any other gear besides 1st.... most here will say the same.

So please give more info. Because of the help I've received here, I want other riders of the "king" to get the same treatment....

P