Newbie drag times (slow, but fun!)

OB_mbuehler

Registered
Second time out to the strip and lots of fun this weekend, cut-out aside! I'm still pretty damn slow, still not launching, and still timid in first gear to really drop the hammer, but my times are improving no less :) I've managed to lose about half a second over last weekend.
For your amusement:
Reaction : .497
60 FT : 2.238
330 FT : 5.304
990 FT : 9.696
E.T. : 11.395
MPH : 132.483

As for shaming the Busa name... I beat my friend on his Bandit 1200, all three flat trackers (not much to that) and all (very cool group of guys) the All Harley Davidson Drag Racing members. No losses. I'm relatively fast I guess :) The bike has plenty more to give, so I'm gonna keep at it. I believe I can easily break into the tens once I get takeoffs down correctly.

Hang in there. I've been doing it for 30 years, and still learning. A lot of roadracing guys have tried it, and sometimes they don't do much better, the first time. It's a whole different world. On the other hand, I have yet to "drag knee" (at least deliberately). :) ...... ...Also, don't feel too bad if you don't get into the 9's,. Half the time, these claims are bogus. A lot harder to do it, than to talk about it. Good Luck.

I have found that If you start by leaving like from a stop light it is easier to lauch and the 60 foot times will go down to 1.8 at least.
It looks like you were tring to hard to launch.

I also experienced my first time at the strip last weekend too.

Reaction....671
60ft......1.967
330ft.....4.940
1/8.......7.234
1/4......10.800
MPH.....134.59

This was my best run out of 7 attempts.

I discovered that I was too ham fisted with the throttle at the start...spinning all the way through first and part of second, and way too heavy at the other end shown by poor MPH. 270lbs cancels out much of 170rwhp 'busa.