New Shinko 009 feels 'loose'

no cowl

Registered
OK, in follow up to ‘cornering on ice’ thread, it became obvious that I need a new rear rubber. Well with money tight I found Shinko to be [on paper] a good balance between price and performance. Mind you I do mostly highway miles and daily commute. I don’t get to do any track days and don’t trust the bike enough to do any knee dragging.

So my question to you guys is this: “What should a new tire feel like?” OR “what did your 009 Shinko’s feel new/ now?”

I have been riding for near 5 years and this is the first tire I have had to replace (bought and sold a few bikes over the years). This feels VERY ‘loose’ almost like the rear wants to come around and off track (fish tailing). Tire pressure is good.

Any advice? :please:
Thanks!

It's not balanced correctly. Take it off and rebalance it very carefully. Some tires are harder than others to get spot on.

How long has it been on, and at what temperatures are you riding ?. I found Metzeler sticky right out of the box, but given a cold night, and just starting out from a point of origin, it would take a wander on me. Couple minutes later, it was right on track. Also, I run mine about 6lbs light from stock specifications. 42 is fine for interstate, but around town 36 does the trick. :super:

If the tire feels loose, and the pressure and alignment are good, it's a balance issue. The faster you go the worse it will get.

Wiped mine with brake cleaner, yes, BRAKE CLEANER, then sanded them lightly....oh boy...here comes the debate...:rofl:

shouldn't this be in the gay day thread??:poke:

and technically if you only need the REAR rubber it's big diesels responsibility to get it:thumbsup:

:rofl::rofl:

Why does this make you think of my :moon: ???? :laugh: :beerchug:

I have a whopping 15 miles on it (realy BRAND NEW). Top speed of the trip was 60-70 for about 6 miles, the rest was 35 or less.