New 'Busa owner needs advice

acceljunkie

Registered
Hi folks.  This is my first post.  I searched, but didn't find an answer to my two simple questions, probably because they are so simple.  I'll be grateful all year for any help you can give.

Background: This is my first 'Busa and I'm deeply in love.  I've had half a dozen other bikes over the past 40 (gulp!) years, including a GS1100 (modified),  but nothing like this.  The 1100 was getting boring at the drag strip (11.28 @ 115.86), so I had to make a change.  My '06 white LE 'Busa is stock at present, has been through the break-in period, and it's almost time to drag it.  I'm a total amateur, but something inside keeps making me want to go faster.

The track I use requires a kill switch and a number plate (instead of painting the number on my headlight & helmet with white shoe polish as they used to do).

Question 1:  Do you know where I can get a number plate to identify my bike without fashioning one out of steel myself?  How would you attach it to the bike's right side as required by the track?  Dozens of you must have solved this problem before, but I haven't figured this out yet.

Question 2:  My local bike shop has proved beyond doubt that they're not competent enough to install a kill switch.  I've obtained a kill custom designed for the 'Busa from Schnitz Racing.  After I cut the ignition wire, how shall I connect the kill switch?  I read that butt connectors always jiggle loose at the worst possible times, but I'm also told that solder joints tend to get brittle and break after a few years.  What's left?

Thanks again for any advice you can provide.  I promise, I'll post pics of my baby once I take some that are up to the quality of others I see on this board.

I would ask the other bikers how they came up with the plate and how to mount. They'll probably help hook you up.