network geeks... I need your help

mynewride

Registered
I'm in need of assistance. I currently have 2 machines in my house that I have networked using windows 7 ultimate and windows 8.1 pro. The windows 8 machine I am using like a server. It has 20 tb between 8 hard drives. They are packed full of Blu Ray movies ripped in iso containers. I will be beginning the slow process of converting them to uncompressed mkv containers so I can set up my plex server.

My problem is that when I stream the data to my windows 7 HTPC it stutters frame by frame. I have completed a quick network test and it shows 314MB download and 600MB upload. I would think that is sufficient to stream a movie. I have been streaming iso's for 2 years. Why would an mkv be any different.

Once I have this streaming problem solved I will be setting up flex raid to offer me some redundancy.

The Htpc is using xbmc for my movie needs while the plex is for everything else. The plex will transcode and send data to all portable devices and roku sets.

I believe my network is set up as windows smp. What would be the best and fastest solution to my problem?

Server : windows 8.1 pro
Intel I7 950 OC to 3.2ghz
MSI big bang xpower mb
6gb dominator ram
Gigabyte 5870 video card
Kingston hyper X 128gb ssd
Dual Realtek gigabit ethernet

HTPC : windows 7 ultimate
AMD 5600K APU 3.6ghz
Decent asus mainbord
8gb ram
128gb Kingston hyper X ssd
Realtek gigabit ethernet

Sent from the great Samsung Galaxy Note 3 using Forum Runner

Why mkv? Why not avi or mp4? I use a lot if those formats for my wd media players. Lol mostly kid movies! Lmao

I want mkv because it is uncompressed and retains my dolby digital true HD and my dts master audio for my home theater. Mkv is the preferred container for plex and that will allow me to stream my movies from home to anywhere in the world.

MKV is just a container. there are a couple formats like that.