Need Help urgently

Thrust

Registered
Well, took delivery on my new '04 Busa today with 0.5 miles on the odometer. As I was pulling out the clutch felt like it was engaging **really** late but being as I'm new to a Busa no biggie. Well, 3 miles later the clutch is slipping so bad the bike won't even pull out on level ground. Dealer comes and picks up the bike. Bleeds the clutch system and it appears to be working fine (albeit still engaging a too late for my tastes). So as I'm leaving for work and merging onto the interstate in 2nd gear the clutch begins to slip again.

After work I began my ride home and the clutch wasn't slipping any more until the bike was fully warmed up.....then....yep slipping again.

Any ideas? Another bleed of the system? Any adjustment(s)?

Thanks for any quick assistance as I'm really wanting to go for a ride this evening and tomorrow!!

It sounds like air in the system. Try pulling the clutch all the way in and tie it there overnight. From what I have hurd it will allow all the air to escape. I would also make the dealer look into it again.

My clutch engages at the very beginning of the stroke. Definately needs dealer attention.

Also, because the clutch was slipping so badly, it might have taken a bunch of wear in those first few miles. May tell them to make provisions for replacing the clutch ASAP. Check yer motor oil for signs of excessive clutch wear.

Good luck!

Well, still no luck. I bled the system again and had no air at all. Took the bike back out. Still quite a while on the stroke before clutch engagement. At first it seemed to be fine (no slip) but as the bike warmed up it started to slip again.

oh well.....back to the dealer w/ my 43 mile "old" Busa.

Anyone have any ideas that I should suggest to the dealer (other than a clutch replacement...which I will ask for.)?

TIA

Thrust.. read this thread all the way through.. may help.

pay particular attention to :