My 600 mile impression.

OB_CuriousMike

Registered
(This will be a quick overview of my impression of the motor... handling, brakes, fit/finish will come later.)

OK, for the most part, I was a good little Suzuki soldier and kept the motor under 6k for the first 500 miles. Maybe a few SHORT jaunts up to 6k with partial throttle.

At 500 miles (yesterday), I was free to go to 8k.

Many of you probably come from higher horsepower bikes than my previous '92 VFR, and I wonder aloud if the first time you had the 'Busa hit the power, were you really that impressed?
My VFR probably was a 90HP (on a good day), 45ft/lb bike... HAD to use the clutch to sit it up on one wheel.

OK, OK, back to my stories.
So, yesterday, coming home from work, I'm at the front of the line at a stop light.
Light turns green, and I sedately take off... homeboy in his Eclipse decides he has room/time to make the right on red and get in front of me. I, being slightly dickheaded, don't get off the gas at all... rather, I get alongside him, and "decide to show him who's boss."
So, for the first time, CuriousMike nails the throttle WFO in 1st gear at about 25-30mph.
There was about a second of me feeling the bike accelerate, followed by the front end coming up quick and hard.
This, to my VFR trained and calibrated self, was almost shocking.

This morning, I'm coming onto the bridge. I pay the dude his $2, and sedately (I'm pretty sedate) get going. I'm in 3rd gear, doing 60mph, when I notice there's very light traffic from the toll plaza to the rise of where the bridge starts... ~2 miles.
I assume the tuck position, and nail it.
You guys aren't smokin' crack when you say the motor makes beautiful music when it starts to honk.
At about 8.5k, I bang 4th gear.
Now, I either hit a slight rise in the pavement, or something, cuz when I hit 4th, the front went light, and the bars waggled in my hands... !!!