most necassery maintenance

JosBos

Registered
First of all I'm new here, so hi everyone!
I need some advice...

I live in Belgium where right now the weather is finaly getting good enough for riding again. But first my 08 which has 12.000 kms needs to be serviced.

Being a bit (much) strapped for cash I've decided to do some maintenance myself. I'm not very experienced at this, but I should be able to do some basic stuff.

So I went to a dealer a couple of days ago to buy oil. When I asked the man which oil I need, he started telling me I should not try to do maintenance myself because there were a lot of things I could not do myself like syncronisation (at 12.000km?) and a bunch of other stuff I can't even remember.
He told me he would do it for 350 euro's. I also need a new tire, pay insurance,... which is going to cost me so this is not an option right now.

Accourding to the maintenance schedule I only need to do an oil change, replace the spark plugs, engine coolant, brake and clutch fluid.

What is absolutely necassery?
I feel comfortable changing the oil and oil filter myself. Is this enough to keep the bike happy?
Can I do damage buy not changing the spark plugs? I would atempt to do this myself, but I understand you need special tools which will cost more money...

Are there any other things I need to think of?

Thanks!

Oil change definately. Clean your chain, kersosene works well, and lube it with your choice of products. Change your sparkplugs when you can afford it, I wouldn't be overly concerned about them. Bad plugs won't harm anything other than performance and fuel economy. At the mileage you have they're probably still ok though.
Coolant, and brake and clutch fluid are ok to change every other year.
Clean your air filter. If it's not a reusable filter(stock isn't) you can at least spray it out with some compressed air if you can't afford one now too.