Mini-Split air conditioners

thrasherfox

BUSA
Donating Member
Registered
Does anyone have any experiance with mini-spli aircontiioners?

We have a second story that is an add on and does not have central air or heating.

We have two bedrooms upstairs and each room has a wall airconditioner (window A/C built into the wall) and we have a gas heater.

We had a guy come out and told us if we put a mini-split A/C system with the heater option it would be way more efficient than what we have and is even more efficient than a traditional a/c unit.

Anyone have any experiance? advice?

no but we are looking at a place that doesnt have central AC so I'm kinda interested in whatcha find out :beerchug:

If you're talking about these I have some experience:

Ductless A/C units

I've used them to cool server rooms in different buildings over the years when on a budget or used them as backup A/C units when specking out a large server room. The new ones out are really efficient and are very cost effective for what they are.

We just upgraded the one in our server room at our main building. The room is a 10 x 10 closet that we had to completely fill a server rack plus additional switches and routers. We originally had a 3/4 ton mini a/c unit in there that would run all the time when the rack was just half full. Now that mini would start to shut off every few days because it was old and never got to rest. The room would get to about 160 before the temperature alarms would kick in on the servers and things would start shutting down. That tells you how much heat is being outputted in that room.