making my own exhaust, few questions before i begin

fitero7

Registered
hello eveyone, so here is my project. i am somewhat of a cheap bastard mainly because im broke most of the time...so this is why i have elected to build me own exhaust system. my idea and jump in and give me your opinion about this is to use the stock headers all the way down to where they go from 4-2 and cut off from there (cats go bye bye) and fabricate my own 2-1 for a slip on yoshimira exhaust that i currently have on there. i would weld a new o2 bung on it. so with this having stock headers to to 4-2-1 using the yoshimira slip on that i already have on there, would this be a viable idea in creating my own cool ass exhaust? would i have to get it tuned? if so i have more questions. let me know what you think everyone!! also i am a welder machinist and have access to all materials and a tig welder...so it free lol

Exhaust pipes are deceptively complicated. The headers are tuned so that there is a pulse of exhaust through them. This pulse actually helps allow the filling and emptying of the cylinders. Very hard to do properly without some real R&D. Not saying it's impossible but I think there will be some real compromises without the design technology to do it properly.

I can do some r&d, build and test them in solidworks and see what that tells me. Or I can just copy and fine tune the shape of other exhaust systems. I'd hoped there was someone out there that could give me a few pointers. And maybe someone that can tune near Tulsa Oklahoma