Leathers in the rain

Busarider007

Registered
How many of you wear your leathers in the rain? I'm somewhat sceptical it may damage the leathers, mould, smell etc.
I'm sure there is some coating to apply like a water repplent for leathers. Thoughts?

I have been wearing my leathers for about 6 years now. In all kinds of weather including rain. Now I will put a rain suit on if it gets heavy simply because I dont want to be soakin wet, but the rain softened up my leather to start with. I dont worry about water treatments, if it gets that wet I need to put my rain suit on.

Same here, I always ride with full leathers so if I get caught in a light shower I don't usually worry about it. But if it starts to monsoon I'll pull over and get the rain suit out of the hump and throw it on.

i've ridden in the rain plenty of times...i always hang them up to dry in as close to a regular riding position as possible...if they are completely soaked through, they may be a little stiff when you first put them on again but it only takes a few minutes to loosen up...of course, as with anything else, you get what you pay for and really good leathers are going to respond better than cheap stuff :beerchug: as far as smell, mine smell a lot worse after having a month's worth of sweat build up and a good soaking actually makes them tolerable again :laugh:

For me there is no point in even buying leathers if yer not going to wear them if it gets hot,too cold,too wet. I just soak the krap outa them in a quality protectant occasionally. I also have sweet rain gear thats easy to put on/take off.Big boot openings,they zip together etc etc.

I've also become a leather hoarder.Perforated suit for the heat,gloves to match.Super thick suit for the cold(heated vest and/or jacket,heated gloves). And low cost,but quality leathers if it looks like rain with thicker non-perf gloves.

I dont believe in saving a 2000 dollar suit from the rain at the cost of my skin.:thumbsup:

RSD.