Launch Master Help

So just hooked up an MSD Launch master bike is stock motor with a Murray Pipe, PCV, and a Schnitz Racing ECU flash. Issue i'm having is the bike starts fine and the Launch Master powers on but when i run the blue wire up to the Black/Yellow wire I can't seem to get it to work. Now i'm just trying to test is yet so the airbox isn't on the bike yet i don't want to put it all together and now have it work. My main question is just for testing purposes i just stuck the wire in the back of the black and yellow connector to make sure its right. Does it matter if i test is right at the clutch lever or do i have to splice in and try it after it comes back out of the housing and in to the wiring harness? I did some searching and saw that someone used the black and yellow wire but it doesn't seem to work for me. Bike is a 2008

I have an MSD Launch master on my 06 GRXR-1000. It is a few years old MSD part number 4350. This unit can be activated two ways. By a ground. Or by a 12 volt signal. It comes wired to be activated by grounding the Blue wire. And that is the way you want to use it.
If you have everything wired correctly. And that includes the ground wire for the MSD Launch master. You can test the unit by simply grounding the Blue wire.
Set the MSD Launch master at it's lowest RPM that's 1,800 on mine. Start the bike. Make sure the Blue wire is Grounded. Throttle up slowly. If all things are right you will be able to hold the throttle wide open. And the engine RPM will stay at 1,800rpm. Or whatever you have it set for. This will at least tell you that the unit is working properly. Then you can move on to wiring it into the clutch switch.

what is the easiest way to ground it out temporally to see if its working properly?