Just got Brocks AH installed

ericyow

Registered
Ok, so I'll preface that I'm no mechanic (lawyer, preacher, pro pool player - but not a mechanic).  But I did have a track-day'in friend help with the install.  To make a long story short, we're installed and plastics on when I ride 100yds up the road and back.  (Sounds awesome, btw.)  Upon my return, and well before the bike got hot, we saw smoke coming from the front and smelled something burning.  I plan on riding again tonight so I'd love to figure out what this is.  We didn't have time to trouble shoot last night because I had to take my girl home and it was already late.  So, any suggestions will be welcomed.

Here's what I've gotten so far - I remember the flanges bending when we torqued down on the header bolts, maybe that's got something to do with it (leak, smoke?).  The exhaust springs have rubber sleeves on them, maybe one is burning, as it may be pressed against the exhaust(are the sleeves supposed to stay on there?).  We changed the oil before the exhaust install, maybe it's just oil on some hot parts (not sure how that's possible?).

Any ideas?

I'll post pics soon, by the way.  It looks and sounds great.  It made my friend's 2yo cry when I started it up in the garage (she was sooo cute).  The PCIII was an easy install.  While I was at it, I quickly used the reflector brackets to rid myself of that nasty undertail.  It was tricky figuring how how to mount it, but it worked out.

smoke on a new pipe is pretty common, it has a distinct smell to it as well. Now unless you have something up against the pipe such as a hose or the fairings.. then I would not get too worried about it.. If there was an exhaust leak at the flange, you would know it..(pretty loud normally)

I would bet if you take the same ride again, little or no smoke with come out..