Is This Normal ? Temp Gauge

Jeff Lamer

Registered
Hey All,

This engine is new to me and my temperature gauge isn't working. I ohmed what I thought was the sensor and it was ok. When I power on the needle does move a bit. The odd thing is that when I hit the kill switch and leave it on I get CHEC on dash and my temp gauge maxes out...Is that normal?

Yes, that's how they work. They go to the top and then down when you fire it up, if bike is cold obviously. If not, when you fire it up, it will read whatever temp. Engine is currently at.

Thanks Mabusa..... I still have no temp reading when engine is hot... not sure how to trouble shoot ? worse case I may add a aftermarket temp/pressure gauge if possible. This is in a car so I have room on my dash.

I
Thanks Mabusa..... I still have no temp reading when engine is hot... not sure how to trouble shoot ? worse case I may add a aftermarket temp/pressure gauge if possible. This is in a car so I have room on my dash.
Im No expert, but it sounds like the gauge goes through its normal cycle when you turn the key. I would think it's something to do with the sensor itself, maybe(?).

Is it sweeping when you initially turn key on? If not then you have a mechanical failure of the gauge itself. If it is and doesnt read tep, replace the temp sending unit.

All fixed now... must have been a loose connection. I removed it and tested ohm range with lighter and then jumpered it out and gauge maxed proving wiring was ok. reinstalled and all good now.

My 04 temp guage cycles all the way up then down, but then slowly rises about a centimeter. The bike is cold been sitting 2 days now in my garage. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance.