Is Oil Consumption Normal?

I am pretty sure if you are loosing oil its not a good thing. I've never seen a high performance engine loose oil. Not that I am an expert. But I have been in a few pit crews.(stock cars with 600hp) It probably means the motor wasn't broken in correctly. Causing the rings not to seal.

I am pretty sure if you are loosing oil its not a good thing. I've never seen a high performance engine loose oil. Not that I am an expert. But I have been in a few pit crews.(stock cars with 600hp) It probably means the motor wasn't broken in correctly. Causing the rings not to seal.

not saying you're wrong here,but you take the owners manual to ANY highperformance vehicle mustang,vette,viper etc. and read it.it's states that haveing to add oil in between intervals is normal,and you know a brandnew car isn't leaking oil right?? well that means it's buring it a little.and i own a 500+ HP mustang thats a street/strip car, and even it uses a little in between changes.and i know folks that have cars/bike doing the same thing.point here is....if it's not useing ALOT of oil then don't worry.if the smoke is not blue then don't worry.just ride and enjoy it!

Last edited:
My 02 uses about half a quart every 3000 miles and the compression on all 4 cylinders are all right around the low end at 172psi. I'm only guessing here but I think that the busa's that use a little oil did not get the best break in procedure, and a little oil slips past the rings. As long as you are not finding a bunch of metallic shavings in your oil and the engine isn't making any knocking sounds, just add a little oil between changes.:beerchug: