I want to share something that my son did

MC MUSTANG

Peace Keeper or Ban Hammer-it's up to you; IDMBT#9
Staff member
Administrator
Registered
Okay,
I have been wearing a POW/MIA bracelet on my left arm since 1994.  Yesterday, I took it off for the first time in over 12 years.  Here's why:

My 4 year old son was diagnosed with diabetes at 15 months old.  He was issued a medical id bracelet which he cannot remove.  After coming back from his doctor's appointment yesterday, he asked me if my bracelet was for a medical problem as well.  I told him that no, it wasn't for a medical problem, I wore it because someone was lost and hadn't found the way home yet.

Now my son is a huge fan of the Disney movie "Lilo and Stitch".  In that movie, the word "Ohana" is explained to mean family, and that no one in the family is left behind or forgotten.

So my son asks me if he can wear my bracelet.  I tell him no, because it is very special and daddy never takes it off.  Christopher tells me that he knows it is special, which is why he wants to wear it.

I explain to him that he can't wear it, because he doesn't understand what it means.

Here is what he said:
Daddy - I have to wear it.  That way, I will remember him until he comes home.  I have to remember him because no one gets left behind.

My wife came in while I was putting the bracelet on my son.  She asked me two questions:
1.  Why was Christopher wearing my bracelet
2.  Why was I crying.

Just wanted to share.  If you ask my son what the bracelet is for, he will tell you it is for Sash Sargit (He can't say Staff Sergeant) Gage.  If you ask him why he is wearing it, he says, because no one gets left behind.

I guess they're right.  Kids do say the darnedest things.

Semper Fidelis,
Shawn

<!--EDIT|MC MUSTANG
Reason for Edit: None given...|1149833706 -->

Kids understand more than we want them too, at times. It's a shame that most of us forget to look at the positive points, instead of the negative.

Kids understand "Hope".