I want to buy a busa

brownbomber

Registered
I've been riding dirt bikes for 6 years or so and I feel I'm ready to make the jump from dirt to street. I've loved the busa for a long time, and I want it to be my first street bike. Where is the best place to find fair prices? How well do you think I'd do on a busa? I'm scheduled to take an MSF course next month so I'll have the basics down when its time to purchase.

Thanks in advance :thumbsup:

How tall are you and how much do you weigh? The Busa is not a good bike to be your first unless your a big heavy guy. Use to dirtbike usually mean you ride wild and crazy on the dirt and wouldn't be much different on the street. The Busa is not a good one to start on riding like that. Either way you go look for a used one maybe ebay or craigslist.

Oh and :welcome: to the org

We've got a bit long thread somewhere on 'Busa as a first bike'. Lots of pro con opinions. But sounds like you've already made up yours, find something used if this is your first real bike. Get on it and ride, put some miles under your belt. Lots of horsepower, but with a relaxed rider, it does all things well and can easily be an old granny bike. ;)

My preference is to buy from a private seller if you are looking for a used one. You probably know where to look in your area.

On a side note, your reflexes from dirt riding are wrong for the street - particularly for the use of throttle, front brake and rear brake, body position. Being used to sliding the rear is a big plus. So, I would seriously consider going with a less powerfull bike first even though it seems you already made your decision.

In any event, wishing you the best in your new beginning. Whatever the bike is, take it easy, advance with baby steps only, and spend another under $20 and study "A Twist of the Wrist, II" by Keith Code (Amazon has plenty of those).

Oh, yeah... :welcome:

:welcome: to the ORG! Good luck finding your new bike, you will love the busa!