I need a front tire.

Charlesbusa

Used to be a SoCal Busa
Donating Member
Registered
I need a new front tire, don't need to change the rear it's in good shape. I don't drag my knee is corners but I don't want a rock hard tire. I'd like to have the traction if I ever have to lean it over farther than I normally go.

i am not an expert on this but is it ok to have two different tires ?i thaught the threads should match up.  some info would be great

<!--EDIT|ROCKBUSA
Reason for Edit: None given...|1081825194 -->

i like the d208's ,some people don't like the sharper profile of the d208 fronts(it "falls"into the turns a little more)but they make me feel confident and they don't seem to push the front end as much.they seem too have plenty of grip(i have not had any scary traction moments with them;had alot with the oem's,they slid like mad all the time;especially while braking)
front and rear tires are designed to work together,but i think you will be ok so long as you don't totally mismatch the tire styles;i.e. having a hard compound touring tire on the front and a soft sport tire on the rear.
racers have been known to put different tire compounds front and rear to alter a bike for different track conditions,just don't be drastic about it

PREF. WITH THE SAME MANUFACTURER
smile.gif

I would suggest replacing both tires as opposed to just changing the front. If you get a BT010 on the front then you are going to need a new rear long before the front wears out. Then you would need to buy a new rear to match the front and then you are still stuck with the OEM tires. If money is an issue then you should replace the front with the type or brand that you want to have in the future, assuming they have the same type of profile. There are better tires for about the same price as the OEM ones. I like the Metzler Sportec M1's, they handle nicely and warm up quickly.