horsepower loss with 6 inch arm???

D-max15

Registered
I am looking to add 6 inch arm to my Gen 1. what kind of hp loss does the dyno typically show? this bike has your basic bolt on stuff so i would guess hp is around 170-175....this is still a street bike so most of my racing is 30-40 mph rolling starts......thanks

I'm no expert but I just read about this on another forum and they said you lose 5HP for every 6 inches added to the swingarm.

I dont see this? How would wheelbase play any part on dyno HP numbers if it was strapped down on the drum? Onlything I could see is the cause is the longer chain but really 5HP :DUNNO:

The power loss is mainly from the longer chain. I dont know that it would be 5 hp for 6 inches but I would think its possible.

a properly tensioned high quality one piece chain should have no losses regardless of its length....the swingarm flex may come into it a bit on initial applied power...if however your running an extension 2nd chain then there will be losses in the additional gear wheels and rollors.

I dont see this? How would wheelbase play any part on dyno HP numbers if it was strapped down on the drum? Onlything I could see is the cause is the longer chain but really 5HP :DUNNO:

Longer/heavier chain will cause HP loss on the dyno. Also a heavier/soft compound tire could show HP loss too.

anyone actually do a dyno run back to back stock arm vs longer arm? have any of you that run the mile notice the longer bikes run slower speeds??

at 170-175 hp I dont see why you wud want to go that long. I was at 335 hp with +3 and it never came up nor did it spin the tire hardly ever unless it was really cold out or sand on the highway. on a bike makn that much hp I think its a total waste of money, time and possible traction.