Homemade chili..wish me luck

TruWrecks

Banned
Tonight is my first attempt at chili from scratch. I have never tried making it before, but I tired of chili from a can. It's simmering right now. I smells really good. I have also tasted the mix after boiling it for a few minutes. It tastes better than it smells so far.

It contains:

8oz black beans
8oz red kidney beans
3 tbs of dark Chili powder
1 tbs of garlic and oregano
1 tsp fresh cut Basil
1 tsp fresh rosemary
1/2 lb of lean diced steak
1/3 green pepper
8oz diced tomatoes
1/2 medium yellow onion
2 tsp liquefied habenero
2 tbs ketup

It's making me hungry smelling it in the kitchen simmering. I just hope I didn't add too much of anything. I don't want it to concentrate down so strong that it ruins the flavor.

wow a real recipe? :laugh: chili for me is always a mix of what I got here.. all kinds of fun stuff you can add :) update on your opin on the recipe..

Oh and an eval the next day too... usually gets better a day later for me..

half cup of nibble corn...... so when you turn around and your butt is burning..... you can say....... OH ya... chili....:rofl:

recipe sounds good, keep us posted on how good it is.

I felt like cooking tonight and did a home made chicken pot pie from scratch. And yes it turned out good!

mm mm sounds good, can smell all the way here in AZ. I have a recipe that calls for beer, It was pretty good.

Update on the chili:

I changed the contents a bit before it's done simmering.

12oz black beans
12oz red kidney beans
3 tbsp of dark Chili powder
1 tbsp of garlic and oregano
1 tsp fresh cut Basil
1 tsp fresh rosemary
1/2 lb of lean diced steak
1/3 green pepper
8oz diced tomatoes
1/2 medium yellow onion
2 tbsp liquefied habenero
2 tbsp ketup
8oz of yellow corn (sounded good)
1 cup prego original speggeti sauce
2 cups water.

Bring to a boil for 5 minutes.
Simmer for two hours

It smells so good right now. I might need to add a bit more habanero to it.

Last edited: