Help setting up Gen 2 suspension for drag racing

spooledup

Registered
I am new to drag racing motorcycles and I need help understanding and setting up the suspension. I am planning on running it tomorrow and wanted to set up the suspension a little before I go. I want to have a general understanding of how changes affect it so I can start trying to figure it out.

My bike is a 2008 Hayabusa stock wheel base (measured about 59 inches) I have a lowering link on the middle setting. I am also going to be strapping the front end. I weight about 195-200 in gear and about 5' 8'' height. I am also at a high elevation (5600 feet with the DA usually in the 7000 feet range) so the bike is down 15-20% in power from sea level.

How much sag do I want to put into it? How does putting more or less sag affect how it reacts? Is sag and pre load the same thing?

How does changing the compression affect how it reacts? Where do I want to start?

How does changing the rebound affect how it reacts? Where do I want to start on this?

I wold also like to set up the front suspension for when I am riding and the bike when it is not strapped. I watched a few videos online about setting up the suspension so I have a really basic understanding of it.

Thanks for the help.

Cisco

Last edited:
:welcome:

Ideally, you want to have the bike squat on launch to get the best grip and stop the front from rising immediately. Dont set the rebound too hard as you dont want it to spring back too quick.

Also, you need to be aware that if your preload is too soft you may get the bike hitting the rear tyre. You will notice this from marks on the undertray etc. I dont know if this will happen on a stock length bike!

When I bought my 08 it had already been dragged and the previous owner had it all set on hard settings, it worked OK but you need to set it to suit yourself, I softened it all up a bit.