Helmet Noise Levels

texomawaves

Registered
Hi guys, newbie here again. I searched and found a lot of helmet threads, but unable to sift through so much info to find what I'm looking for. Please forgive me if this is an old topic.

Question: Are there methods of reducing helmet wind noise to a noticeable level... other than spending lots of money on a high end helmet?

Thanks, Chris

Even high dollar lids can make noise. Some people use ear plugs when they ride.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ What he said.

Don't forget the most important thing is to find a helmet that fits your head and gives you good field of vision, etc. Then you can figure out what you want to do to make it as quiet as possible. Some people use earplugs, others listen to music with noise cancelling headphones, etc. As always, the search function is your friend as are customer reviews on sites that sell helmets. If your not sure about fit or size make sure you go to your local shop and try some on unless you're familiar with the return policy of an on line shop.

:welcome: to the org!! Other than plugs I haven't heard of anything. I've found plugs on revzilla that claim to lower wind noise to a safe level while keeping the ability to hear music and someone speaking. Will get some soon and post the results.

You must wear earplugs when riding.

Wind noise even at 65 mph can approach 105 dB. That means real permanent hearing damage within 30 minutes.

No helmet, no matter how well designed can help with that.

I wear 33dB reduction earplugs. It doesn't remove sound, it just turns down the volume.

I've never worn earplugs and never will. their the most uncomfortable things I can think of. not all helmets are noisy. usually ur race only helmets are noisier cause of the weight but there r plenty of street helmets that aren't noisy