Heat problem and fuel pump?

mtang1717

Registered
Okay, I know this has been discussed several times already.  I just bought a 99 busa and took it in for services.  The mechanics (although is not a busa mechanic) is telling me that the bike is dying out when the thermostat hits half way and thinks it is related to the fuel pump which "might" not have been replaced.  Although, I am not an expert nor a mechanic but I don't just want to start replace parts and spending money, can anyone tell me if the installing is due of the fuel pump or simply something else it?

BTW, I told them to just change the stock fan to the muzzy fan for now.

I think there are some issues with the 99 models,not sure if the fuel pump is one , but there were some recalls.Maybe a search on this site will help more, wish I could be of more help to you bro, how about posting up some pics of your bike?
smile.gif

Over here, a lot of guys have trouble with the fuel filter on the 99 busa - leads to stalling a lot. Might want to have that checked/cleaned/replaced - there were also some issues with the fuel lines on '99s getting kinked (I think that's at least part of the reason that the fuel pump was moved inside the tank on later models...

another thing - a couple of guys have found that wrapping the AITS sensor with tin-foil helps - no seriously it acts as insulation and because it seems to sit too close to the motor (its under the airbox on the left side - here's a picture ) at high temps, it feeds incorrect Airbox-temperature info to the computer, resulting in a bad mix to the injectors...

But does the fuel pump has anything to do with the heat buildup.

The installing issue is occuring when it is sitting at the shop and when the fairing is off.