Hayabusa stablemate- opinions on the TL1000R

02BusaMark

Registered
As a group, you guys currently own or have owned nearly every bike on the planet. I'm reaching out for some advice here... Looking for a winter/spring deal on a stablemate for the busa. Pretty much will be a 50% road 25% track and 25% guest bike. Also will be the bike I ride when she rides my busa (she thinks its comfortable). The bike that I have my eyes most focused on is a TLR. A few things have led to this bike, but I have no experience with bike itself. Any former owners or friends of owners give me the lowdown on these cult bikes? Trying to stay under the $3,500 mark and am seeing some locally around that range. Bike seems to be a little bit of GSX and a little bit of GSX-R.

Please educate me on this bike.

The TLR is a V-twin, great bikes and if I had the extra cash I would have one. I believe it was designed to compete in the superbike championship?

Owned one. LOVED IT!!! They sound amazing. The V-twin provides great torque and is still a very quick bike. Was comfortable for all day rides for me except a hard seat. I ony sold mine because I crashed it and decided to move on rather than putting $2k in parts into it. Mine was on 01 that has 24k miles when I sold it and it ran great! Just be very cautious with what you are buying as they are getting rather old now and maintenance on them may not have been maintanied depending on the former owners. Good luck in your search

100_4580.jpg

I owned one as well. Of all the 521 bikes I've owned, this one I miss the most.

Don't expect it to be a perfect track bike as Tiller could elaborate on. It's a beast weight wise. As mentioned earlier it was originally made to compete in Superbike, but was destroyed by a certain Honda. :down:

That being said, I'd buy another one in a heartbeat.

Things to look for:
1. Oil leaking from the clutch pushrod