got a speeding ticket

tourbus

Registered
Ive got some steam to blow off so here we go, i was on a nice after work ride last eve with my good friend ken. we were on a road that is not traveled a whole lot and we were lumbering down the road with my speedo showing 65mph no big deal, well one of kansas's finest met us oncoming, lit us up, made a daring u-turn on a blind corner,and pulls us over. He walks up and gives the typical line by saying you know why i pulled you over, i said well im not sure, and he fires back that he clocked us at 70mph, writes us both $126 fines & ads that he was hoping we would of run because other guys do it to him and they cant outrun him, he really said this to. My problem with all this is i am a good driver/rider that doesnt take chances on the street and i havent been ticketed or even pulled over in years & years. I know these guys call in our drivers licences to check for prior tickets/ accidents, and in my case i have neither. I guess people will say im wrong, but i think a warning would of been the proper punishment on this ordeal and hope this kind of crap dosent happen to my .org brothers hope to see ya on the road!

From what I understand if your speedo was showing 65, unless you have a speedohealer, you would only be doing around 60-62.

Did you take a look at his radar readout? I would fight it. When was the last time his radar gun was calibrated? He was moving toward you so you would be going faster than if he was sitting still.

I feel your pain. I got a 87 in a 60 by a Kansas State Trooper as well and they have no sence of humor. The guy was a jerk with me and like you I pulled right over and gave him no lip,just yes sir,no sir.

Mental note to self..... Watch speed while traveling wide open Ks highway!
Never have figured that one out in all my years living here. I tend to agree that most Ks hi-po's aren't real forgiving...