Going from cruiser to Hayabusa

Belair Barca

Registered
So I started riding at 55, and for the last 5 years, I've own cruisers and baggers. which I've ridden from the East Coast to the West Coast and back, up to Canada, and all up and down the East Coast. But recently decide I wanted something different, so I bought a sports bike, 2009 Busa, and while it's been largely a positive experience, I do have some mixed feelings. First, let me just state this bike is a blast to ride, as long as there is little to no traffic. My maiden ride was 440 miles from NC to Maryland, and for the first 200 miles it was fantastic, as I was fortunate to experience light traffic all the way up to Richmond, VA. After that, it was miles of congestion. Once past DC, it was back to fun riding. Move forward a week and again I'm finding myself getting frustrated due to slow suburban and rural drivers. I'm not one for crossing solid double lines, so I'm finding myself impatiently wait for passing zones. When I'm on the cruiser/baggers, it's aggravating, but to a lesser extent. But, when I'm on the Busa the frustration needle pegs rather quickly.

So that's my first issue, my other issue is corning. I just don't quite get how folks can corner so quickly on regular roads. I'm looking at getting into a track day class, I'll be taking that soon. Also, I'm sure that with more miles on the seat, I'll get better. But, wanted to ask those folks who've transitioned from a cruiser to a sports bike, I'm sure we have one or two, how did you figure out the sports bike? What was your experience like?