Gen II rear tire removal

UncleSteve

Gear good - roadrash bad
Donating Member
Registered
Any one find it harder than the Gen I ?

The caliper seems to be in the way, I removed it the second time around.

Any one have an easy rear tire removal suggestion, I don't like removing the caliper.

I wrench on motorcycles for a living and can honestly say that the '08 Busa is one of the hardest (fidliest) bikes to remove the rear wheel on. Even when you get the caliper off there's no where to put it so you have to be really careful not to scratch the swing arm. Bikes should be designed by mechanics, not designers!!

The caliper must come off with the rear wheel, there is no way around it.

What messes folks up the most when trying to remove the rear wheel: failure to remove the rubber brake hose retaining bracket (running along the right-hand-side stay of the swingarm).

When you remove the bolt that retains the bracket (takes a 8mm socket), you then gain enough "slack" in the rubber brake line to allow the caliper to slide rearward with the rear wheel, enough so the caliper retaining tang clears the retaining slot on the swingarm, allowing you to remove the rear caliper without scratching up the rim paint.

Last edited by a moderator:
I wrench on motorcycles for a living and can honestly say that the '08 Busa is one of the hardest (fidliest) bikes to remove the rear wheel on. Even when you get the caliper off there's no where to put it so you have to be really careful not to scratch the swing arm. Bikes should be designed by mechanics, not designers!!

I thought it was more trouble than it should be.
Just checking to see if someone had a better way.

What Warchild says is correct but I've found that even with the hose released it's still a PIA. On mine I'm going to replace the rear hose and get one made an inch or two longer to allow a bit more movement.