Gen 1 Sprocket question

Vader1

Registered
Hello all, I’m a newbie to the forum and Busa world. Couldn’t find a thread that answered my questions. So my plan is to run a 17/43T sprocket setup. My question is can you just replace the rear sprocket alone? Or can I change the sprocket and chain without touching the front because I really don’t wanna tear into the front if at all possible. Also what are the recommendations for a good X-ring chain & rear sprocket. Thanks in advance

There's nothing preventing you from just changing out the rear only, but common practice - best practice, really - is to swap out all three components (2 sprockets, 1 chain) same time as these parts "adapt" to each other during wear. Else, older components left in tend to wear down newer components more quickly.

No doubt others will be along to give you brand recommendations for chain & sprocket.

Do you realize that your chain is probably a riveted master link chain? Ever dealt with the removal of one or did you plan on having a shop do the work? I’ve always had mine changed at the same time but I’d at least take a look at the condition of the front sprkt if you only want to swap the rear. Most any name brand rivet link chain with at least 10,000 pounds of tensile strength will do nicely. DID, Diamond, RK and EK come to mind.

Last edited:
I see this is your first post-welcome.

My 2 cents is this....I'd be tearing into the front sprocket and check on it's condition before going to the lengths of changing out the chain and rear sprocket. If you are going to the bother of changing 2 out of three components, it makes little sense to not go all the way and at least check the front.

How old is the chain and sprockets which are currently on the bike?

:welcome: to the Org. Sure you can just change out one component of final drive,but should you,IMO...no. @HayaWakened has nailed it. :thumbsup: