Garage door ?

sixpack577

Top Gun
Donating Member
Registered
Bought a house a few weeks ago.
It has new garage doors, but they only have a sliding bar inside to lock each of them.
No external handles or lock cylinders, or automatic openers.
I have no experience at all with automatic openers.
I would like something low profile or wall mount(have 2 doors), and with a key pad outside.
Any advice on what to buy, what to avoid, or installation tips would be greatly appreciated.
I plan on adding them in a couple months as I have time.
Thanks

Honestly, I would check with an overhead door company to see what kind of prices you can get. May just be me but those things can be a *****.

First pair of door openers I had were Sears Crafstman. Didnt last more than a few years. Second pair I bought from Lowe's. Going on 8yrs with no issues. Installation is simple,can be done with a basic tool kit and basic mechanical knowledge. Takes better part of 4hrs to do both. Just make sure whichever opener you buy has a rolling-code so other garage door openers cannot open your doors.

Belt or Screw drive over chain. At least 3/4 hp and if you have a 16' wide extra heavy door you might consider 1hp.

The new Chamberlain "My Q" technology is pretty neat. I'd recommend it over a keypad outside. It connects to your wifi and you can open the door from your smart phone, from anywhere. But the best thing is you can create notifications. I have mine set to notify my if the door is open 5 minutes. And again if it is open 30 minutes. If I drive off and wonder if I left the door open, I can look at the app for status instead of turning back around to check it.

Mine is a retrofit version that works with most anything. I have it connected to a 16 year old Genie and a Garage Master (likely a Chamberlain product). Less than a $100 for the master unit and you can add a second door for under $30.

I can tell u this much don't leave your new grill in way then hit shut button:unhappy: