Friend of mine went down

ibified

Registered
Well, a friend of mine laid his 2007 R6 down yesterday - bad enough that I had to go pick him and the bike up with my truck. Sad, too, because it only has about 140 miles on it. He's fine, but the bike has pretty extensive damage. The damage that I found in shaking it down was as follows:

1) all plastics on left side scratched/scuffed
2) tail fairing destroyed
3) taillight destroyed
4) front stay snapped completely off
5) left side handle bar snapped off
6) frame slider on left side destroyed.
7) both front forks bent.

Now, I have a question for those of you who may have done this before....how hard are the front shocks to swap out? I have a head stand that I can lift the front with, so that isnt an issue. Also, where's a good place to get front shocks without paying an arm and a leg for them? I checked ebay and didnt see any.

Thanks in advance, all.

replaced some on a freids R1, They were quite simple but I am also a mechanic by trade. If the forks are bent VERY high possibility the tree is bent aswell. lay them on a straight surface to see that they remain flat in all areas.

KOK:

Thanks.  I didn't think about that, but the tree being bent is a definite possibility.  When you look at the front end all assembled and have the wheel straight, the lower tree is off to the left, and the wheel is also pointing left.  Is that an indication of the tree being bent, or is that just the shocks curving things off of straight? Also: the top tree doesn't line up with everything when i try to put it back together. I could get it back on, but it involved a lot of tugging and a some rubber mallet action.

Thanks for the well-wishes for him, guys. I'm frankly amazed that he wasnt hurt at ALL. he went down in a turn goin about 50 mph. I also think he got off light because by the time the bike hit the ground, it was on a nice level stretch of grass.

Glad he is o/k, now get that bike back together cuz the