Forks won't lock after dealer installed triple tree/lowering kit.

Vonderbach

Your AD here!
Donating Member
Registered
First post, so if this is in the wrong place, my apologies.

This Saturday I bought a new Busa and the dealer had preinstalled a lowering kit with the chrome triple tree. unfortunately, it appears that this mod seems to have eliminated the ability to lock the front end and turn the key swtich to engage the parking lights. It seems that they installed some metal spacers on each side of the fork that stops the wheel from turning all the way, and hitting the brake handle on the fairing.

Is this normal? Should the dealer be responsible for fixing this? I'm new to sport bikes and I need to know how much the dealer should be responsible for fixing considering that these are mods and not factory.

Thanks in advance

I have never lowered a bike so I can't help but I can say:welcome: and posting pics of your ride are in the :rulez:

I have never lowered a bike so I can't help but I can say:welcome: and posting pics of your ride are in the :rulez:

:thumbsup:

Busa.jpg

As it is an aftermarket thing, I doubt they are really responsible to make the lock work, that is just poor engineering on the makers part of the lowering parts.. need to find out what you have for parts and see who has what you want.. Many times form and function do not meet well.. I have an aftermarket triple tree (Cyclecat) that works fine. I would bet there is a unit that will do what you want.. or try removing the stops..

I would take it back and talk to the manager right off the bat to avoid any bs from anyone else. You can always mention the fact you cannot set your park lights as a safety issue from them and have them remove the kit

...I have a GENI..not lowered, but still have not heard or read about any blocks to keep a lowered bike from lock to lock.

post up some pics.