Fork seals

06+5 bussa

Registered
I just need to change my fork seals do i need to pull the forks and go through the whole process of changing oil and spring? I'm new to this so no flaming please lol(i have pretty good mech. ability).

I just need to change my fork seals do i need to pull the forks and go through the whole process of changing oil and spring? I'm new to this so no flaming please lol(i have pretty good mech. ability).
Talk to gixerHP John is the man I dropped mine off at the dealer $432.00 not to big a price to pay for safety and piece of mind

Thanks......I'm trying to do it myself. I'll take a look at the book. Just thought some one would know a lil trick to changing these out themselves. I'll just go by the sticky i saw on here. Thanks any way.....

Last edited:
I used the tutorial done on here by another member as well and it worked great. The only difference I had was changing them solo which left me without the extra help to compress the fork. I used a ratchet tie-down strap attached to each bolt on the compression tool and it worked great. Total cost was 2 seals and a quart of oil. :thumbsup:

Thanks......I'm trying to do it myself. I'll take a look at the book. Just thought some one would know a lil trick to changing these out themselves. I'll just go by the sticky i saw on here. Thanks any way.....

good luck to ya then go for it:thumbsup:

Im have completely torn mine down and put it back together but forks no thanks

I had done about all there was to do to a bike including engine rebuild, but never messed with forks until 2 months ago. i followed the write up on here and it went smooth as can be. I re-sprung it while i had it apart and what a difference!!!! If you weigh more than 180 pounds you will benefit from stiffer springs.

not to thread jack but would you mind posting what springs you went with. im a lil over 200 and I could use some stiffer ones.