Feels like cornering on ice

no cowl

Registered
Question from a ‘Busa Noob. I have only had my 05 Busa for a month or so and am still feeling her out. I have put just over 1,000 miles on her, mostly high way /commuting, and have some questions about tires and feel. If you can help, please chime in. I have been lurking here for a bit and have seen lots of good info here on the org, Hope you can assist me as well.

For the past 200 miles or so I have noticed that it feels different. Best way I can explain it is, it feels like the tires are slipping from underneath me (sideways). I notice this in almost turns, from 90 degree turns to on ramps onto the highway. Not a reassuring or comforting feeling while trying to build confidence in a new bike! I have been riding for about 5 years both cruisers and sport bikes and have never had this feeling before. The bike is basically stock, tire pressure is at factory 42 cold Bridgestone (OEM??)

Thanks in advance.

Lower the air pressure. I run 36-38 on the street when I want to rail thru the corners and never have that feeling of slipping. I don't run OE tires though. PP on the front and a PR2 on the rear. Very sticky with no slip.

i have had a similiar feeling but i dont know how the severity compares to your situation. i run just under 40 psi cold and i always check the tires. i know my tires are good so i trust in bike and i think acceleration helps if that makes sense

where do you live? are the roads/tires cold ?

maybe your getting on the throttle a little too much as you get more comfortable,since you said its only been the last 200mi

are the tires in need of replaceing?

I wouldnt suggest running the tire under inflated for sake of traction,esp on a highway

How many miles r on the OM tires total? I know a few months ago i had to replace mine b/c they had 1 bad spot in them on front and back. :welcome: This place is most helpfull