Employee rights...is this even legal?

I used to belong to this union before I got my degree and moved into management, they were a good union, good for both the workers and company, speaking from both sides of the fence here. I never seen any issue that was not taken care of with a grievance and that was only once. I will say everyone showed up for work rain, shine, snow, or floods. This being the case if things were dangerous we just had to call and say it will be a little late (ice and snow usually the issue, company okay within reason as they look at the workers as an asset and don't want to lose the skilled and trained people. People that didn't show up on time and fit for work could get fired after second time (can fire first offense but never seen it), just wasn't an issue in the workforce, other workers would hold a grudge against you if you didn't pull your weight, that s way worse than management getting pissed.

I think this article deals with union workers. Looks like it’s 20 years old, so you'd have to verify it with an employment attorney: http://www.webshells.com/ocaw/txts/doc99933.htm

On the Right To Refuse Unsafe Work

Organized workers have the right to refuse unsafe work under the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), and all workers have that right under OSHA. But in both cases the right is a conditional one. Before refusing to do a job, a worker must be sure that the required conditions listed below are satisfied:
Under OSHA, the worker must have a reasonable belief, based on what he or she knew at the time of refusing, that there was a real danger of serious physical injury, even if it is later found that there was no immediate danger.
The danger was so great that the worker could not wait for an OSHA inspector before refusing to do the job.