Dealership + new Tire Plus Chain lube

thrasherfox

BUSA
Donating Member
Registered
Ok, I am still learning as far as maintenance goes on my Busa.

After purchasing it never gave any thought to when, how and what as in reference to chain lubrication.

Pick up my bike from a dealership last year, around October. Road it until last month with the stock tire. never a problem, never lubed the chain once however. I am going to have to look at the service manual to decipher that key.

Anyway, sticking to the subject at hand.

I drop off Busa, have tire put on, pick Busa up. Drive back home, load Busa on truck and take Busa to Nevada on my business trip.

I have now noticed that apparently the dealership used some kind of lubricant on my chain that has spewed forth large amount of grease, the affected parts are:

1) My nice what used to be clean and always clean back rim, now has this film of grease all over it covering the entire rim. Regular soap did not seem to want to clean it.

2) My really nice under tail that I like so much, not only has grease under it, it actually has grease splatter marks on the left side of the under tail where the chain is.

3) The nice clean metallic looking part that the sprocket connects to, that is like 2 inches wide, solid grease.

None of these parts had grease on them until after the tire change.

I took the bike down to the dealership today and showed them and asked them WTF, is this normal, and the guy tells me YES.

I said, well how come it didn’t do this from the dealership. His reply was, well they pack the chain in special grease. And it doesn’t splatter, and the after market grease splatters.

And I said, well why cant you use the grease that the chain is lubed with from the factory.

The answer was, welllll uhhhh it is in a big tub.

So I say, this is just something I have to live with? And he replies, well could grease it and let it set for a few days and see if it packs on to the chain better.