Clueless and oops!!!!

Wolfman

Registered
Ok guys. Need help. I am not new to the mechanic thing but I am new to the working on a bike thing. So to my problem. I did my 7k maintenance myself. It wasn't bad, and I also changed my rear brake pads. Clueless first: I swapped out my brake pads easy. It was a sinch. But when I went riding and tried to use them....nothing!!! I bled them and everything. I have no clue what I did (or didn't do). What's up?
rock.gif
? Now for the oops. Like I said I am no rookie mechanic. I worked on cars for years and I am a mechanic in the navy. I turn wrenches every day. So after I drained my oil I put my plug back in. So I got it finger tight and then put a wrench on it (see where I'm going with this). Tighten and then slip Stripped it.....$#!T So anyway. I tweaked it the best I could and got it down to a very slow drip. So my question is do you guys have any advice on how I can fix this without paying big bucks. Thanks guys.

Sounds like its time for a Heli coil!!!! Or replace the oil pan, you should be able to find one hear on the Org, or try ebay..
rock.gif
rock.gif

rock.gif

Gonna get the Heli-coil today. So exactly how do I install it? I got the general idea but I want to do it right the first time so I want to make sure. Thanks guys. Oh and one more thing. Someone told me to put teflon tape around the plug but I didn't like the sound of that since it was going into my oil pan. But he said he has done it and its fine. But it just makes me uneasy. Thoughts?

ok i used to be a plumber run the heli coil first and after that you wont need the t tape. and i wouldnt use it in my oil pan either just sound good at all