Cloning a PC Image?

Twobrothersbusa

Team Gixxer Racing; IDMBT #1
Donating Member
Registered
In the past, I have used a bootable CD with Norton Ghost to clone a laptop image to another identical lap top. Have any other found anything that is easier / better?

Instead of using two laptops for backup contingency, I am debating using VMWare and just running an image. I have not done this for a primary PC, but use images at work all the time. Looking for experience in that arena as well.

Thanks,
2BB

I have been Ghosting for about 15 years and started in the military with Norton. I have now started with the Windows 7 Ultimate version as it's built in and works so well. I also know that Ultimate Boot CD free for download as an ISO and it has an imager within it's utilities but I have never used it.

If you want to have a chat about Virtualization give me a holler sometime. Ultimately it depends on what you are doing with your personal machine. Lotsa options to have but if you are doing anything major with the hardware such as vid rendering or anything along the lines of that don't do virtualized OS's. You will regret it in the long run. Generally run mine in a server environment and have to balance some serious loads..(At work, not my home PC) While its nice and saves time getting back up if you keep your images current.. just for the sake of a personal comp with a single VM, you might as well just ghost it to a NAS and call it a day.

3 posts and I got a headache!

Good luck with your ghosts and images. I hope the enquirer buys one and you make lots of money.

:laugh:

We use Symantec Altiris 6.9 SP5. We create a basic image using one machine, sysprep and capture it and redeploy it 900+ times... works pretty good and depending on image size is fairly fast.. if you are using Windows 7, you need to use a KMS server to do this properly... but thats with 25+ machines in your network...