Clicking by the rear sprocket

MoNoXiDe

Registered
Let me start off by saying I just went from the factory tires through the break in process and just switched up to Pirelli Angels. I also have vortex rear sprocket and EK chain. When I took the rear tire off I went ahead and took my chain off to clean the hell out of it. Got the tires on and ran the chain back through. I went on a 4 hour ride and when I went to put the bike in the garage "I back it in" I heard click click click click. It almost sounds like the chain is clicking off the sprockets teeth. Anyone have any idea? This doesnt happen going forward, only backwards.

I used belray to relube the chain.

Sounds like either your not in alignment, you have a bad link or you over tightened your master link.

Wouldn't that make a sound going fwd too? I'm no mechanic by far. but doesn't it allign itself when you feed the chain thru?

Not if you over tightened one of the posts for the master, look at the mushrooms to see if they are the same size. Pretty sure he is talking about tear wheel alignment...

It most likely has nothing to do with alignment or the rivet link. Vortex sprockets are notorious pieces of garbage. Being aluminum they cannot hold up to wear as well as a good steel sprocket will. If it only makes the noise when you roll the back backwards, that is it. Take a close look at the teeth of the sprocket, they are probably slightly hooked . . .

It most likely has nothing to do with alignment or the rivet link. Vortex sprockets are notorious pieces of garbage. Being aluminum they cannot hold up to wear as well as a good steel sprocket will. If it only makes the noise when you roll the back backwards, that is it. Take a close look at the teeth of the sprocket, they are probably slightly hooked . . .

Mine is steel, with aluminum carrier.

You cannot be serious? The only "Garbage" here is your statement! :dunno: