Choosing the right engine platform

Hey everyone!

I am new to the forum and am really struggling with my decision here.

Earlier this year, I had a major motorcycle accident. My body is damaged enough that I will never race motorcycles again. I have tried with my GSXR750 and found my hips articulation does not allow me to hang off the bike without being jerky. Many muscles are still paralyzed unfortunately and likely will be forever.

I do not think I can go without the thrill of speed. My solution is to power up my crosskart. Currently, it runs a GSXR600 setup but is currently being upgraded to accept the Hayabusa platform. Pictures attached. I am extremely familiar with high power turbo vehicles as I have owned several over 1000hp. I am also a master certified technician with a degree in automotive high performance.

What I need help with is understanding this specific engine platform. I want to run a turbo hayabusa setup in it. I have already purchased a standalone fuel management system and touchscreen dash. It will run on e85 at all times.

I need help deciding between a Gen1 and Gen2 engine. I am reading that the gen1 has transmission issues around 300hp. I do not anticipate ever going over 350 crank hp. This crosskart is street legal so I do anticipate the need for the platform to handle that 350hp consistently and reliably.

I can save $1000 by going gen1. Is the gen2 setup worth the extra money when I am already running stand-alone? I would love some advice from some of you more experienced individuals.

8BBEEAB0-A7BA-4320-9428-1B3CCB3C351D.jpeg

899965B0-7C97-40DE-B098-72163F21B237.jpeg

Welcome and Merry Christmas. More knowledgeable members will post soon but from what I've read the first gen engine is turbo friendlier. The fact that you're thinking 350hp might change that? Looks like quite a toy you're building!

Reactions: Zee