Changing the Sprockets

sessions

Registered
I did a search for this question and couldn't find anything. I just got my steel sprockets in today 16front and 43 back. How hard is it to change them out What tools will I need? I've never done this before and im just wondering what complications are in front of me if any!!! thanks

You might need an impact gun for the front. Unless you jamb up the rear wheel with a pipe tru the spoke. I med. lock tite all bolts after.

The hardest part usually is loosening the front sprocket nut especially the first time. An impact driver makes the job much easier and less stressful.

I did both mine this year, front is a bit more work but straight forward. I don't know if anyone else hard this problem, but when I was putting the new one on the rear ALL the bolts stripped!! I wasn't even on it hard and they all failed. And the nut has a lip on it so the nut doesn't back off so I had to dremal all of them off. great, and at $4.00 a bolt plus nuts it was great f-up.. I swear they used bolts made of swiss cheese cause I've had more bolt strip/break than any other bike or car I've owend!!! Are you listening Suzuki??!!

+1 on using a 1/2" impact gun on the front sprocket...make sure the trans is in neutral when you use the impact...other than a rear stand (makes it easier) just normal hand tools will get the job done.

Rear axle nut is a 36MM...don't remember what the nut size is on the front sprocket.

+1 on using a 1/2" impact gun on the front sprocket...make sure the trans is in neutral when you use the impact...other than a rear stand (makes it easier) just normal hand tools will get the job done.

Rear axle nut is a 36MM...don't remember what the nut size is on the front sprocket.
+1... the long pipe may work but it does induce stresses that can break or twist things.. the manual states to use an "impact" (Harbor Freight for around $35 you can get an electric 1/2 job)