Carbon fiber Hayabusa?

Itsxthexslim

Registered
Im new to the org here and glad to be here. I'm looking over my NY winter to sell my custom painted plastics and tank to do a carbon fiber body. I might just leave tail to paint it black and/or tank to black. I would love to get a carbon tank but that **** is crazy expensive. Is there any big weight reduction by going carbon fiber. I know there lighter but any ideas. And any clue on what to sell my custom plastics for?

Welcome to the board . Carbon is $$$ no matter what. Looks are great but why save the weight ? You gonna do speed runs or drag?

I might drag it to see what it does every once in a while but I always like the look of carbon fiber. I had my integra all carbon fiber just always been a fan of it. I saw that post of tank. He has been trying to sell it for awhile according to first post date. 750 I wish I had. My trunk on my integra was only 650 lol. But the tank is such a nice piece

If you're talking weight saving the biggest bang for your buck will be the carbon fibre tank, rather than the bodywork. I'm not sure of prices over there (I'm in New Zealand) but it is about the same price to purchase a tank compared to a full set of bodywork in carbon fibre, so it balances out. The weight difference between the fibreglass backed panels to full carbon fibre aren't enough to justify the extra cost if you are looking at getting the panels IMHO.

You *could* always have a crack at taking a mold of your plastics and lay-up some new panels yourself? That will keep the cost down.

One of our newest sponsors makes the entire body and tank out of Cf.
He's in Greece and his prices are reasonable. Look for him in sponsor section.

There's also a member here who has an all CF Busa and its for sale.
Username Pan.

If you're talking weight saving the biggest bang for your buck will be the carbon fibre tank, rather than the bodywork.