Can I Bypass Bad Gear Position Switch With A Tre?

BKing111

Registered
Ok Gents,Have an 08 BKing and it definitely has the bad gp switch and I can't afford to replace it right now.Been reading about the timing retard thingy and had a crazy idea.Do you think it would be possible to use a simple TRE and bypass the gp switch.I mean like use what ever size resistor it takes to mimic 4 gear and maybe use a dpdt switch to swap it to the neutral wire and back to the resistor.Also does anyone know what value resistor to use I have read its different from the hayabusa and yes i know how crappy tre's are but i think 4th gear map is better than the 6th gear map it uses by default.This will only be until i can repair it maybe a month or two.

Don't know, interesting idea, personally, I'd say no but I've no experience of that type of idea/work around, hopefully some one else will chime in, good luck.

I would not personally recommend it. The Busa uses 5th gear fuel map, the B-King uses the 4th gear fuel map to bypass the restriction. I think the resistor value on the Busa is like 6.8k ohms, but dont quote me on that. I dont believe this bypasses the gear position sensor, but simply uses the 5th gear map in 6th gear. You might be able to pull the plug and measure the resistance with an ohm meter, but unless you understand exactly what you are doing to the fuel map, the analog signal from the gear position sensor to the ecu, I wouldnt mess with it. If your GPS is failed, bypassing one fuel map for 4th gear wont fix it. But there are folks way smarter than I when it comes to things like this.

A TRE will do more harm than good.
They always eventually fail, and cause all sorts of gremlins.
Have your ecu flashed as an unrestricted Busa. Add a ram-air mod, and remove the mid-pipe butterfly (just unhook cables and servo, spring will hold valve in most open position).
I had a gen2 Busa, and a Bking. Doing those things to the Bking really wakes it up.