Buying a used busa

mmawonder

Registered
Hey guys, I am new to this forum and busa's. Since they first came out in 99 I always wanted a busa but always steered away from them due to people saying its just a drag bike etc... now after owning 2 gsxr 1000's and a 600rr I am thinking about getting a used busa. Since I am new to these bikes, which criteria's should I consider except the universal ones, such as frame and steering stoppers etc... when buying private party. How can I tell if the bike has the second gear problem, would a second gear hard accelaration test ne helpful?
Ps: I am thinking $4000-$6000 2003 and up less than 15k milage.

Welcome to the org. Yeah, they make killer dragbikes, but they also make good streetbikes and decent canyon carvers too. There is no way that I am aware of to tell about the second gear issue. The test you mentioned may help, also, try speedshifting and see if it gets kicked back out of gear. There are no other things to look for that I am aware of other than the usual bike related things to check for. For the most part, the Busa is bullet proof!
Good luck in your search, and check the for sale section here as most of these bikes have been very well maintained!!
thumb_up.gif
beerchug.gif

I dont know everything, and the ones that do know will chime in. I believe the 2nd gear issue was fixed after 02, meaning 03 and up should be fine, unless abused. The busa makes a great all around bike, and I promise after riding for 20+ years, I can not ride the bike to its limits on the street(or track). I love mine and would not consider replacing my busa for anything. Oh, and welcome to the oRg!
peace.gif

I picked up my 05 when it was 6 months old and had 1242 miles on it. I've babied it ever since and it's treated me great in return. I think the biggest thing to gauge is the prior owner. If you show up and you get a weird vibe or the bike just doesn't seem right, walk away from it. There are plenty of them for sale.

Good luck,

BUSAFETT