Buying a 00 Busa....

SSKILLZ

Registered
Short and sweet...maybe.

My daily driver is a 2000 Camaro SS. It is now a 10 second car and becoming unreliable for every day use.  Ive been riding on and off for 4 1/2 yrs.  Ive owned a cbr600 f3, anda cbr600f4i.

Anyway...its been a bit over a year since Ive been on a bike, and today I rode my friends 2000 Busa.  Its lowered 3", Micron exhaust, power programmer, and a couple small parts.  3900 miles.  Some garage scratches.   Here it is...

http://www.gmvsford.com/forums/attachment.php3?attachmentid=906

http://www.gmvsford.com/forums/attachment.php3?attachmentid=905

First question.... ARE BANKS ON CRACK? Max loan value on a used 2000 Busa is only $4255. I dont get it? Tis was a 10k+ bike new right?

Im going to buy this bike for $6200. New rear tire, new starter clutch, and all theTSBs are being done as we speak. $6200 fair? What should I be looking for on this bike? Anything I should know?

And...As I said...tonite was the 1st time I have been on a bike in a bit over a year. I know this bike cant be thrown in to corners so hard. Its a big mother. But simple turning, and definitly turnig around in a cul-de-sac was very hard for me. I felt way unbalanced. Is this the Busa? Is this the 3" drop? Is this me being used to a small 600? Will I get used to this, or am I a bit out of my league?

I had mine 1.5"'s in the front and then 2"'s in the back and I did not have a problem turning it in the corners. Easily scraping pegs. I raised it back to stock height and still no problem in the corners, the bike is very stable.