Busa 2014 Akrapovic Full System

danielp

Registered
Hi all,

Just go my new 2014 busa (blue and white), I love it. Although it's not my first busa, I have limited tuning knowledge, and little mechanical skills.

I bought a full system Akrapovic exhaust (single can, part # S-S13R2-RT).

Unfortunately, I live in a country where there are NO tuners, no dynos, and no way to really tune your bike. Taking it to a tuner is not an option... :-(

So what do you recommend I do to take out the maximum from my bike? I would really love to get your recommendations in regards to what air filter to buy, and whether it's worth getting a PCV (or any other engine/fuel management system).

What country do you live in, whoever you bought the system from should have a map, some people like Pipercross, some BMC, some K&N (filters) If you have a full system, you should probably get a PCV. I would talk to the dealer you bought the exhaust from. You will have a hard time finding someone that will just give you a custom map.

racerV - thanks for the reply. I live in Israel. I am buying the full system from a US-based dealer. I will ask about the map, but my question (being a newb in the tuning area) is more about default maps that could be loaded on a PCV or other systems. I would assume that such maps were made by the exhaust manufacturers, no? Or is each bike tuned individually and no central repository of such maps exists?

They're generic maps. They are close but not perfect. You need to have the bike tuned using a PC and base map for your system or dyno tuned. Some of the systems make little to nothing but your system is one of the ones that makes 12 - 15 RWHP from memory. You can do what you want, but I run the OEM air filter.

Talk to the person selling you the pipe and tell them to ship you the pipe, a PCV with a known good base map for your bike and see what they say. From memory that use to run around $400 US.